Download our app in the AppStore now!

Download our app in the Play Store now!

View the Mobile Web Version of our app here!

You're seeing this message because you're using an older version of Internet Explorer that is unsupported on our website. Please use these links to upgrade to a modern web browser that fully supports our website and protects your computer from security risks.

Hide this message

FSU Tag Line


Bookmark and Share

FSU Presents Faculty Achievement Awards on May 23

Frostburg State University will present three professors with Faculty Achievement Awards during this year's University Honors Convocation at 7:30 p.m. on Friday, May 23, in the Pealer Recital Hall of the campus Performing Arts Center.

This year's recipients are Dr. Ahmad Tootoonchi, Department of Business Management, for teaching; Dr. Jason H. Edwards, Department of Psychology, for academic accomplishment; and Dr. John J. O'Rorke, Department of Political Science, for University/Community Service.

The excellent teaching of Dr. Tootoonchi is recognized widely by both students and faculty. Students benefit from his abundant knowledge and his informative and innovative teaching styles and also have great respect for him, which emanates from the consideration and courtesy he gives them. Since he joined the university in 1989, Dr. Tootoonchi has been recognized by the College of Business for being an outstanding teacher, and he is one of only two faculty members since 1983 to have received the Foundation Award twice in the same category. Still, Dr. Tootoonchi continues to seek ways to enhance his teaching skills, most recently through the integration of technology. He regularly mentors students about career choices and supports them in developing outstanding research projects that have been submitted and presented at conferences.

Since coming to FSU in 1997, Dr. Edwards has published 10 articles in refereed journals in the area of psychotherapeutic treatment of children and adolescents. His findings have had clear implications for the diagnosis, treatment and education of children and adolescents, and he has achieved a national reputation as an expert on numerous childhood psychological disorders including attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder. He has made 25 conference presentations since joining the faculty. In addition Dr. Edwards is highly involved as a reviewer, serving on the editorial board for the Journal of Mental Health Counseling and for the American Psychological Association.

For over a decade, Dr. O'Rorke's commitment and vigilance in matters of governance have had a tremendous, positive impact on the lives of other faculty. In the four years he served as Chair of Faculty Senate, Dr. O'Rorke demonstrated his dedication to ensuring that faculty had a voice in shared governance. He has worked tirelessly to see that those committee members entrusted with specific tasks completed them while continuing to update faculty on changes and important issues as they occurred. In addition, Dr. O'Rorke has shared his knowledge in political science and public administration by advising the Student Government Association, coordinating the Model United Nations Security Council for area high school students, serving on the Frostburg Housing Authority and chairing numerous University committees.

In addition to the Faculty Achievement Awards, the University Honors Convocation recognizes students who have earned Graduate Program Honors, Undergraduate Department Honors and Honors in General Education.

The Convocation is free and open to the public. For more information, contact the FSU Office of the Provost at 301-687-4212.

FSU is committed to making all of its programs, services and activities accessible to persons with disabilities. You may request accommodations through the ADA Compliance Office at 301-687-4102, TDD 301-687-7955.

For further information on this release, contact:

Office of News and Media Services
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD  21532-2303

Telephone: 301-687-3171
Fax: 301-687-7589